Following its introduction in Korea in July and its launch for the Chinese market in September, Samsung is now rolling out maintenance mode globally. This feature, also known as security mode in Korea, prevents you from accessing your personal data while your phone is in use.
The maintenance mode rollout begins with “select models” running One UI 5 released from the Galaxy S21 and S22 series. The rollout will continue through 2023, with “availability expanding to additional Galaxy devices,” Samsung says.
If you’re lucky enough to have a device that gets this feature, you’ll find it in Settings > Battery & Device Care. Once you turn on repair mode and restart your device, all of your personal information will be inaccessible to the person repairing your phone. You can’t retrieve your installed apps either.
Data and accounts created by them while in maintenance mode, as well as apps downloaded from the Galaxy Store, are automatically deleted when exiting from it. If we talk about exiting it – you do this by tapping on the mod’s quick settings icon and then verifying it using your fingerprint. After that, the phone will reboot into normal mode as if nothing happened.
This sounds great to us; You just need to make sure your local repair shop doesn’t have a strict reset policy before the devices are shipped (and/or returned to customers).
source | through